The Hits from Coast to Coast

August 10, 2008 at 9:57 am (Music) (, )

One of my favorite things to do on Sundays growing up was listening the hits from coast to coast while Casey Kasem counted them down. That’s right. I’m talking about the AmericanTop 40. It was four hours of great music, long distance dedications, and Casey’s smooth voice counting them down.

Several weeks ago Hubby and I watched a special on VH1. I won’t go into the details of the show at this point, but will save it for another post at a later date. But what I will tell you is that it peaked my interest in going back and looking at the count downs from days long ago and seeing what songs were at the top of the charts.

And so I have decided to share my findings with you each Sunday as I will go back in time and bring you the songs that were top ten hits this week on the American Top 40 from whatever random year I choose to travel. So here we go…

This week I am traveling all the way back to August 3, 1974.

The top ten songs for the week are as follows:

#10 – Sideshow by Blue Magic
#9 – Call on Me by Chicago
#8 – Please Come to Boston by Dave Loggins
#7 – Rock and Roll Heaven by the Righteous Brothers
#6 – The Air That I Breathe by Hollies
#5 – The Night Chicago Died by Paper Lace
#4 – Rikki Don’t Lose That Number by Steely Dan
#3 – Feel Like Makin Love by Roberta Flack
#2 – Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me by Elton John
and the Number one Song in the country this week in 1974 is…
#1 – Annie’s Song by John Denver

There are three things that stand out to me in this countdown.
1. I recognized about 50% of the songs.
2. Chicago is in the countdown as well as a song about Chicago dying.
3. When I hear the title Feel Like Making Love, Roberta Flack is not the performer I am inclined to think of.

If you would like to check out the list of all 40 songs for the week go here

And now I will leave you with a video of the number one hit this week.

3 Comments

  1. LeBlanc said,

    I can’t believe that the crap John Denver song beat out the awesome Elton John tune for #1 that week. I guess since I was only 3 months old I don’t think I minded too much then though. lol

  2. Lynnster said,

    LOL… well unfortunately I recognize all of them but the #10 – that must have been a brief one-hit wonder!!

    Yeah, I used to listen to Casey Kasem on Sunday afternoons too, though the year you picked is about when I listened, probably around 1973-1979 mostly.

    Thanks for the heads up about this!

  3. Sunday Blasts from the Past « Lynnster’s Music Zone said,

    […] August 10, 2008 Cluttered Brain (also known as Mrs. Natural Deficiency of Moral Fiber) has started a new regular Sunday post that is kinda fun, picking a random year to review the top ten on American Top 40 with Casey […]

Leave a Reply

