The Hits From Coast to Coast – August 21, 1982

August 24, 2008 at 6:00 am (American Top 40, Music) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

This week our Coast to Coast time capsule will be traveling to the date of August 21, 1982. On this date some interesting history facts: the Palestinian terrorists were dispersed from Beirut and Rollie Fingers (Brewer) became the first pitcher to get save #300. Obviously not a big day in the history books as these are the only events I can find for this day. I remember neither of these events as I was only 7 and was neither big into world events or baseball at the time. Even now at the age of 33 I can’t say I am really a big fan of either, but I will support the Red Sox since Hubby is from Massachusetts and a die hard Red Sox fan.

Another event on this day way back in 1982 was Casey Kasem counting down the hottest Billboard hits of the week.

I will skip over hits 40 -11 since they obviously were not the biggest hits of the week and will just count down for you the top ten.

#10 Take It Away by Paul McCartney
#9 Wasted On The Way by Crosby, Stills, and Nash
#8 Vacation by The Go-Go’s
#7 Keep the Fire Burning by REO Speedwagon
#6 Even the Nights are Better by Air Supply
#5 Hard To Say I’m Sorry by Chicago
#4 Hold Me by Fleetwood Mac
#3 Abracadabra by The Steve Miller Band
#2 Hurt So Good by John Cougar

and the number one song in the US on August 21, 1982 was…………….
#1 Eye of the Tiger by Survivor

And there you have it folks. The Billboard ranked them and Casey Kasem counted them down…once upon a time.

I am very excited that I actually know and was a fan of all but two of these songs. I am still a fan of most of these songs today. I do not remember Take It Away, however. I’m sure it was very popular back in the day but not popular enough for me to recognize it (my sincerest apologies to Sir Paul). I will place the blame of my lack of exposure to this song on my geographic location at the time of this count down and on my sister since she was mostly responsible for any exposure I had to pop music in the early 80s.

If you would like to check out the full list of songs from that week go here.

1 Comment

  1. LeBlanc said,

    I am pretty sure that Sir Paul would forgive you and…GO SOX!

Leave a Reply

