Vacation Extravaganza – Day 3 (Part 1)

August 31, 2008 at 5:20 pm (Vacation) (, )

As mentioned in my previous posts, Hubby and I are on vacation this week and my parents came to stay this weekend. My mom and dad are currently looking to buy a home closer to my sister and I as well as something that will be more convenient to Nashville.

Sunday morning my mom and I hit the highways to check out a few of the properties she is interested in possibly purchasing. We checked at a place in Petersburg and while perusing the town I managed to get a couple of shots of the town square.

From Petersburg we headed to Shelbyville to look at a few more houses. While checking out one of the houses I noticed this.

OMG!!!!! This is like the biggest non-Amazon spider I have ever seen!!! Needless to say, I did not get to close because I was afraid it might attack and kill me, but I did get close enough to take some quick pics. No joke. This think was about 3 inches in length. I looked it up and apparently it is a Argiope aurantia, or black and yellow garden spider. They are evidently harmless to humans. That is probably because they are too big and scarey for people to want to mess with.

If I didn’t have arachnophobia before, I think I might now.

1 Comment

  1. SueBoo said,

    They are totally harmless and love eating lots of bugs. But, like you, I will stay away. One of Dustin’s friends was over last summer when we saw one of these spiders in a web in between our hedges. Dustin’s friend proceeded to pick it up and hold it. FREAKED ME OUT!

Leave a Reply

