Feel Good Friday – Twist & Shout

September 19, 2008 at 12:10 am (Friday, Music) (, )

I haven’t been in much of a mood to to do anything the last few days.  For those of you who have not been living in caves, I’m sure you have seen the news.  There is a large insurance company that has been having problems.  They have been plastered all over the news since Monday morning.  Wall Street has hung in the balance of wondering what will become of this corporate empire turned to…well…I guess mush is a good word. 

That large insurance company owns the smaller but still somewhat large insurance company that I have had the misfortune of showing up to work at everyday this week.   When I left work on Friday things seemed ok.  I had a typical weekend, nothing major happened.  But Monday morning the entire world turned upside down, at least for my company and for the thousands of people who either have policies, annuities, and/or money markets through our company.  For the last four days, I have answered more questions about our parent company, our company, and the insurance industry as a whole than I ever thought possible.  I have repeated the same information so much that I know I must be saying it in my sleep.  It has been an absolute miserable week of trying to settle the panic of customers and listening to co-workers who will not be able to retire because of the devastations their 401k’s have suffered due to the company’s stock being worthless at this point.

If I didn’t hate my job before, I definitely do now.   I’m officially for hire if anyone needs me.

Needless to say I have a feeling my weekend is going to contain many adult beverages.  I think I may just lay in bed with the curtains drawn singing Egypt’s Land like Cameron in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

I need a Ferris day off in the worst way, and so this week I have picked the song Twist & Shout as performed in the movie.

 

     

2 Comments

  1. LeBlanc said,

    This song really does make me feel good. How strange for you to choose a Beatles tune, though. I think we are all in need of a good Ferris day.

  2. The Ultimate Feel Good Friday: Bee Geesus! « GingerSnaps said,

    […] is more FGF with Holly, Mack, Sharon Cobb, GMan, Cluttered Brain, LeBlanc, Sean Braisted, jane q. public, monstermash40, Slarti, Sista Smiff, Russ McBee, Jim […]

Leave a Reply

